NameDr. Hari Babu Kambhampati
AddressRaj Bhavan, Aizawl
Mizoram 796001
email :
Phone Number0389-2322262/2323200
Fax No.0389-2323344


Date of Birth15-June-1953
Place of BirthTimmasamudram Village,Prakasam District,
Andhra Pradesh.
ParentsLate Sri Kambhampati Venkateswarlu and Late
Smt. Seethamma
SpouseSmt. Jayashree
ChildrenTwo Daughters. Smt Chetana married to Sri
Chukkapalli Chakravarthy and Smt Chandana
married to Sri Tripuraneni Varun
Grand ChildrenChukapalli Arnina & Chukapalli Arnav
SiblingsOne Elder Sister Smt Annapurna married to Sri Muddana Jayachandra Sekhar Rao and has children Smt Maruthi Devi, Smt Kavitha and Sri Suresh Babu
One Younger brother Late Sri Kambhampati Muralikrishna Babu married to Smt Satyavani and has children Sri Kambhampati Venkatesh & Smt Vineela
EducationBTech in Electronics & Communications Engineering from Andhra University(AU)
ME in Electrical & Control Systems from Andhra University
PhD in Control Systems from Andhra University
Professional Career Worked as Associate Professor for 24 years in Andhra University Engineering College
Political Career- As a Student Leader, participated in the Jai Andhra Movement along with Sri Tenneti Viswanatham, Sardar Gowthu Lachanna and Sri Muppavarapu Venkateswara Rao in 1972.
- Served as Secretary of Andhra University Engineering College Students Union from 1972-1973
-Actively participated in Lok Sangharsh Samithi Agitation under Loknayak Jaya Prakash Narayan during 1974-1975 and was arrested under the Maintenance of Internal Security Act (MISA) during emergency. Imprisoned for 6 months in Visakhapatnam Central Jail and Musheerabad Jail.
Served as Andhra Pradesh State Executive Member of Janata Party in 1977
Served as Andhra Pradesh Yuva Morcha State Vice-President of Janata Party in 1978
Served as Secretary of Andhra University Teachers Association in 1988
Served as BJP State Executive Member of Andhra Pradesh from 1991-1993
Served as BJP State General Secretary of Andhra Pradesh from 1993-2003-
Served as Floor Leader for BJP State Legislature Party, Andhra Pradesh from 2003-2004
Served as BJP National Secretary in 2005
Served as BJP National Disciplinary Committee Member from 2013-2014
Served as Andhra Pradesh BJP State President from 2014-2018
Served as BJP National Executive Member from 2018-2021
Legislative Positions Held:Elected to Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly from Visakhapatnam-1 Assembly Constituency in the year1999
Elected to the 16th Lok Sabha from Visakhapatnam Parliamentary Constituency in the year 2014
Member of Taskforce constituted by Central Government for interlinking of rivers from 2003-2004
Positions Held in Parliamentary Committees during 2014 - 2019Member of Public Under Taking Committee
Member of Parliamentary Standing Committee of Commerce
Member of Consultative Committee of Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
Member of MP Lauds Committee
Chairman of Standing Committee on Energy
Other Positions Held
Member of Marine Products Export Development Authority
Member of National Council for Teachers Education
Member of National Shipping Board
Present PositionSworn in as the Governor of Mizoram on 19th July 2021.

Former Governor/Lt Governor

Sl NoNameDesignationFromTo
28Dr. Hari Babu KambhampatiGovernor19th July 2021 -
27PS Sreedharan PillaiGovernor5th November 201918th  July 2021
26Prof Jagdish MukhiGovernor9th March 20194th November 2019
25Kummanam RajasekharanGovernor25th May 20188th March 2019
24Lt. Gen. Nirbhay SharmaGovernor26th May 2015 24th May 2018
23 Shri Keshari Nath TripathiGovernor4th Apr 2015 25th May 2015
22Dr. Aziz QureshiGovernor9th Jan 201528th Mar 2015
21Dr. Krishant Kant PaulGovernor16th Sep 20148th Jan 2015
20Shri Vinod Kumar DuggalGovernor 8th Aug 201428th Aug 2014
19Shrimati Kamla BeniwalGovernor9th Jul 20146th Aug 2014
18Shri Vakkom PurushothamanGovernor 2nd Sep 20119th Jul 2014
17Lt. Gen. (Rtd) M.M. LakheraGovernor25th Jul 20061st Sep 2011
16Shri Amolak Rattan KohliGovernor18th May 2001 24th Jul 2006
15Ved Prakash MarwahGovernor1st Dec 200017th May 2001 (Additional Charge)
14Shri Anandam PadmanabanGovernor2nd May 199830th Nov 2000
13Shri Dr. Arun Prasad MukherjeeGovernor 29th Jan 19981st May 1998
12Prof. Siddheshwar PrasadeGovernor14th Jan 199828th Jan 1998
11Shri P.R KyndiahGovernor10th Feb 199313th Jan 1998
10Shri Swaraj KaushalGovernor 8th Feb 19909th Feb 1993
9Capt W.A. SangmaGovernor21st Jul 19897th Feb 1990
8General KV Krishna RaoGovernor1st May 198920th July 1989
7Shri H. SaikiaGovernor20th Feb 198730th Apr 1989
6Shri H. SaikiaLt Governor11th Dec 198620th Feb 1987
5Shri SH DubeyLt Governor11th Dec 198620th Feb 1987
4Shri S.N. KohliLt Governor16th Apr 19819th Aug 1983
3Shri N.P. MathurLt Governor27th Sep 197715th Apr 1981
2Shri S.K. ChhibbarLt Governor13th Jun 1974 26th Sep 1977
1Shri S.P. MukherjeeLt Governor24th Apr 197212th Jun 1974